First Step In Writing A Screenplay by UCLA Professor Richard Walter

Film Courage write.film.create
8 min readApr 1, 2017
Photo by Clark Young on Unsplash

Film Courage: What is the first step in writing a screenplay?

Richard Walter: Getting your butt in the chair and hands on the keys and seeing where it goes. I believe you have to have an outline, but then you have to throw away that outline. It will take paths that are surprises to the artist that created it. I’ve never known anyone who wasn’t surprised by lines of dialogue that characters seem to invent by themselves, twists and turns in the story.

I remember asking Neil Simon “Do you laugh at your own jokes?” And he said “Sure I do, the first time I hear them.” And I think that’s fantastic that he actually hears them. It’s as if someone else is telling them…telling these jokes to him. And that’s the experience of a lot of artists.

I wrote…I sold a TWILIGHT ZONE episode years and years go about a muse, some sort of composer of commercial jingles and his muse that proposes…I’ll spare you the story. If I told you the story you’d think “Hey, what a good story!” But the thesis underneath it was the notion that muses…

--

--

Film Courage write.film.create

Check us out @filmcourage on Youtube - New video daily at 5:00 p.m.!